Friday, October 19, 2007

The United Synagogue and The Rabbinical Assembly Name Commission

The Rabbinical Assembly and the United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism have recently appointed a six-member Heksher Tzedek Commission. This Commission will be co-chaired by Rabbi Michael Siegel of Chicago,Illinois and Mr Scott Kaplan of Atlanta, Georgia. Other members of the Commission are Rabbi Avram Reisner, Rabbi Jill Borodin, Mr Gerald Kobell and Dr Marilyn Wind. In addition, Rabbi Morris Allen has been appointed Director of the project and Dr Richard Lederman is the Professional Staff.

In early November the Commission will be meeting in the Twin Cities to hear a complete update concerning the work which has taken place during the course of the past year.

In a further posting, we will update you regarding the excellent work which Jewish Community Action (JCA); Prof David Cobin and the Hamline University Law students have undertaken; a new Heksher Tzedek website and brochure developed by Tunheim and Associates; and the standards which are being developed by a nationally recognized monitoring firm.